Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
The Seconde Bora Eole's blog in English!
19 mars 2010

The memories of J. Carpenter.

DEL_20sheeps_20in_20dry_20landscape_20with_20green_20trees_20near_20Narnaul_20on_20the_20road_20from_20Delhi_20to_20Mandawa_203008x2000

October 13, 1862, I have to leave the farm...

My name is Jessy Carpenter, I'm 16 and I live in New York. My parents are two farmers who do the same things everyday. They never left their farm, because they had to look after people who wanted to rob them, But, today, they decided to leave their boring life for finding adventure. What is the reason ? They read in the newspaper stories from travellers who said Oregon was better. So, I should to get things ready.

October 14, 1862, Get ready !

This morning we put our belongings in the covered wagon. Instead of give up the farm, my father decided to let it to my uncle. We have started to travel and I know the journey could be dangerous. I read also in the newspaper many people died on the way but I think my parents didn't want to stress me.

December 29, 1862, The journey

Today I had the biggest fear of my life ! We advanced in this dry landscape. It was very boring. There was nothing at the North and nothing at the South. There was just sand on the floor, but we saw a skull on the road. We got off the covered wagon to see closer the skull. At this moment, Indians came toward us. They had long straight hair in wich they have feathers. They was riding. We were very afraid. A Indian advanced toward us. I think he is the leader. He looked if we were good or bad persons. I didn't understand what he said but he joined his tribe and they went at the East. I think, he knew than we were good. We continued any right.

March 16, 1862, The new life

We arrived in a town this morning. The sun rised up. Many people came and they helped us to got off our belongings. It's very different that our farm. There is a lot of houses. People live together. It's a better system that the farm. I saw children. I think we have the same age. I'm really excited to wake up tomorrow. It's a new life that I start !

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
The Seconde Bora Eole's blog in English!
Publicité
Archives
Publicité