Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
The Seconde Bora Eole's blog in English!
15 mars 2010

The diary of an Orphan girl and her cat, Blacky

March 12th, 1840 :

 

       Everything was all right. My luggage in the wagon, Blacky next to me on the seat and no line on the horizon. People all around me were nervous and I was watching us, just waiting for the departure. Feelings were mixed in my head. This land was mine during a long time, but now it's enough, I have to go. For an Orphan girl, it's not difficult to leave everything you have for something else. Nothing is keeping me here. I don't know exactly why I feel like this. It's not a desire, it's a need. My little cat, Blacky, maybe my only real friend, was purring slowly and it has made me smile.
A scream  made me return to reality :"Everyone is ready ? So let's go !"
Yes, let's go, for a long and difficult travel...

 

March 31th, 1840 :   

coveredwagon

         Long. It seems so long to me. Nothing exciting or interesting to see, to do, and it has just begun. We were all travelling by wagon, and cowboys were supervising the land, because of them, the Indians. I have never seen one in my life. But I have heard of the Cherokees, they haven't a good reputation. Just before the beginning of the journey, people were praying to be saved by the Indians, it has caused some hesitation among familllies. But finally they are very curious to see the land, and I'm too but not for the same reasons...

wyoming_cowboys

 

April 28th, 1840 :

 

           I have seen one today ! A little Cherokee. I was looking for water and the boy was playing in front of me. So it's true, They are very gorgeous with their long black hair and the make up on their bodies. I was fascinated by him but when he saw me, he ran away very fast. I was returning to the wagon, still smilling, so happy to have seen one of them. The land was becoming more and more beautiful. I will love it, my new home !

enfant_cherokee

May 30th, 1840 :

            I've arrived. Just so beautiful, all I was expecting, all I have ever wanted, a green grass, a blue sky, a new world for us. Everyone was cheering, even Blacky was happy to finish this long journey. I was looking at the land. The air was pure and fresh. The life here will be pleasant. I'm at home. At this moment, a cowboy said « I'm glad to present you our new home, Walnut Grove ! »

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
The Seconde Bora Eole's blog in English!
Publicité
Archives
Publicité